Discover the ancient church of St Cuthbert’s at the south edge of the lovely village of Fishlake. St Cuthbert’s is a very large church, for what was an inland port. The Landing is known as “Cuthbert’s Haven” in memory of the spot where St Cuthbert’s body was landed in the 9th century. Tradition has it that the remains of St Cuthbert rested in Fishlake during the period of the Viking invasions.
The south-west Norman doorway is the oldest part of the church and can be dated fairly accurately to 1170. Although somewhat decayed, it is richly adorned with sculpture. The priest's door is also Norman and both were part of the first church built in the 12th century. Most of the present church dates from 1351.
The tower is of three stages of beautiful masonry and belongs to reign of Edward IV (1461-83). There are two chapels, one dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary, the other to the Holy Trinity. The rood screen dates from about 1500 and a priest's stall and front choir stall are dated 1616. The east window tracery and glass was designed to reflect the surrounding country side.
There are many fascinating things to discover at St Cuthbert’s, and the village and surrounding area are a lovely starting point for walkers.
If you know anything more about the heritage of this site and would like us to include it here please contact us.
Address: Church Lane, Fishlake, DN7 5JW
Opening Times: The church is open during daylight hours in the summer but winter times vary according to weather and light. The Vicar is always pleased to open the church if needed.
Contact: 01302 841396 or 01302 351649
Directions: M18 J6. Take A614 towards Selby. Take left turn over the River Don and into village. Second left onto Pinfold Lane and next turn onto Church Lane.
Grid Reference: SE 656 131 GB Grid
Click on a point of interest for more details.
The text has been written by volunteers from the site, more information can be found when you visit in person.
Designed by TownTalk